Lifestyle

Vegan Wine

It recently came to my attention that wine (and some beer) isn’t necessarily vegan.

* gestures the cross in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit *

(Amen)

I know right? This is clearly the work of Satan, the devil, Lucifer and Tanya Cheex’s lord and personal saviour.

Some of the ingredients used in the clarification process of wine to remove proteins, yeasts, and other organic particles include:

✦ edible gelatin (made from bones)
✦ isinglass (from the swim bladders of fish)
✦ casein and potassium casein (milk proteins)
✦ egg albumin and dried blood powder
✦ Bull’s blood is also used in some Mediterranean countries but is not allowed in the U.S. or Europe

Fret not fellow booze hounds vegan wine lovers, there’s not a hope in hell that I would give up my compulsive drinking on your god given right to bask in the beauty, the Austere Bouquet, the lush layered aromas and opulence, the silky textures and delectable, delicious, sensual, mouth watering… *ahem*

Web sites with lists of vegan wines include:

www.barnivore.com

vegans.frommars.org


You Might Also Like

2 Comments

  • Reply
    sergio
    September 22, 2012 at 9:55 pm

    Errrr…Breakfast .This is the Breakfast categories ?

    • Reply
      Jennifer-June
      September 23, 2012 at 12:39 am

      Um… first of all, is that a real question?

      Second of all, I remember when you used to keep an assorted crate of breakfast wines in your closet so… I’m not sure what the problem is here.

    Leave a Reply

    CommentLuv badge